skip navigation


Tournament Format

The NCHC Tournament will consist of four quarterfinal series on the first weekend following regular-season play (March 15-17, 2019). The four higher seeds will host the four lower seeds in a best two-out-of-three format. Seed #1 will host Seed #8, Seed #2 will host Seed #7, Seed #3 will host Seed #6, and Seed #4 will host Seed #5. The winners of the four quarterfinal series will advance to the NCHC Frozen Faceoff at Xcel Energy Center in Saint Paul, Minn. for the two semifinal games on Friday, March 22. Semifinal games will be reseeded based on the final regular-season standings. The winners of the two semifinal games (4:08/7:38 p.m. CT) will then meet in the Championship Game (7:38 p.m. CT) on Saturday, March 23 for an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament, while the two losers from the semifinal games will face each other in the third-place game (3:38 p.m. CT) earlier in the day.

All games, with the exception of the third-place game, will be played with complete sudden-death overtime periods (per NCAA Rules). If the teams are tied at the end of regulation, the ice shall be resurfaced and the teams will return to the locker room for the intermission. Upon returning to the ice, the teams shall change ends to begin a 20-minute sudden-death period. This shall continue until a goal is scored and a winner is determined. The third-place game will only have a five-minute overtime to determine a winner, and if still tied the game ends in a tie. CBS Sports Network will broadcast both semifinals and the championship game while the third-place game will be available on