skip navigation

NCHC Recognizes 111 Student-Athletes for Academic Achievements in 2017-18

By NCHC, 02/14/18, 3:00PM EST


All 111 earn Academic All-Conference accolades, 38 honored as Distinguished Scholar-Athletes

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – While student-athletes in the National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC) are always striving to perform their best on the ice, several are also performing well in the classroom as 111 NCHC student-athletes earned NCHC Academic All-Conference Team honors for the 2017-18 season, the conference revealed Wednesday. Among the 111 honorees, 38 were also named NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes for their exceptional academic accomplishments.

To be eligible for the NCHC Academic All-Conference Team, a student-athlete must compile a 3.0 cumulative grade-point average or better while having completed at least one academic year at his current institution. Student-athletes that have accrued a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or better are honored as NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes (previously called the Scholar-Athlete Team), in addition to Academic All-Conference. The 38 Distinguished Scholar-Athletes are only one fewer than last year’s Scholar-Athlete Team and the second-most recipients since the NCHC switched to its current criteria for the Distinguished Scholar-Athletes/Scholar-Athlete Team in 2015-16.

Of the 38 student-athletes to be tabbed NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes, 21 of them have posted a GPA north of 3.7, including five with a 3.9 GPA or higher. Omaha led all NCHC schools with 10 Distinguished Scholar-Athletes, with half of them having a GPA above 3.7, while North Dakota had eight student-athletes earn the honor and Western Michigan saw seven Broncos collect Distinguished Scholar-Athlete accolades.

Among the 111 NCHC Academic All-Conference Team members, five schools placed at least 14 student-athletes on the team, led again by Omaha with 20 representatives. Colorado College was second among the NCHC teams with 17 honorees, despite having no seniors on its roster, while Western Michigan (16), North Dakota (15) and Miami (14) rounded out the top five for most Academic All-Conference Team members.

While freshmen and first-year transfers are not currently eligible for the NCHC Academic All-Conference Team or Distinguished Scholar-Athlete recognition, those freshmen and transfers that achieve a cumulative 3.0 GPA or better at the conclusion of the 2017-18 academic year, will be added to the Academic All-Conference Team by the NCHC over the summer. Similarly, any freshmen or transfers who compile a 3.5 GPA or better will be named an NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athlete.

The 2017-18 NCHC Senior Scholar-Athlete Award will be announced at the NCHC Awards Celebration on Thursday, March 15 in Saint Paul, Minn. on the eve of the NCHC Frozen Faceoff.

All 111 members of the 2017-18 NCHC Academic All-Conference Team are listed below by school, with those also earning NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athlete recognition in BOLD

Mason Bergh
Kristian Blumenschein
Trey Bradley
Andrew Farny
Trevor Gooch
Nick Halloran
Ben Israel
Cole Josefchak
Kade Kehoe
Nate Kwiecinski
Alex Leclerc
Branden Makara
Cole McCaskill
Tanner Ockey
Alex Pernitsky
Max St. Pierre
Bryce VanHorn

Michael Davies
Erich Fear
Dylan Gambrell
Blake Hillman
Rudy Junda
Tyson McLellan
Sean Mostrom
Logan O'Connor
Adam Plant
Colin Staub

Alex Alger
Karch Bachman

Gordie Green
Bryce Hatten
Zach LaValle
Ryan Larkin
Conor Lemirande
Evan McCarthy
Josh Melnick
Carson Meyer
Christian Mohs
Chase Munroe
Kiefer Sherwood
Ryan Siroky

Joey Anderson
Nick Deery
Billy Exell
Karson Kuhlman
Parker Mackay
Avery Peterson
Sammy Spurrell
Jared Thomas

Ryan Anderson
Dixon Bowen
Rhett Gardner
Ludvig Hoff
Joel Janatuinen
Casey Johnson
Trevor Olson
Andrew Peski
Austin Poganski
Colton Poolman
Hayden Shaw
Johnny Simonson
Cole Smith

Christian Wolanin
Zach Yon

Riley Alferd
Alex Blankenburg
Lukas Buchta

Grant Gallo
Ryan Galt
Colin Grannary
Ryan Jones
Zach Jordan
Tristan Keck
Jordan Klehr
Joel Messner
Mason Morelli

Luke Nogard
Kris Oldham
Fredrik Olofsson
David Pope
Jake Randolph
Steven Spinner
Dean Stewart
Tyler Vesel

Mikey Eyssimont
Mika Ilvonen
Robby Jackson
Clark Kuster
Jon Lizotte

Patrick Newell
Jack Poehling
Jimmy Schuldt
Jeff Smith
Blake Winiecki
David Zevnik

Wade Allison
Luke Bafia
Kale Bennett
Ben Blacker
Colt Conrad
Dawson DiPietro
Neal Goff
Trevor Gorsuch
Cam Lee
Will Massey
Hugh McGing

Jade McMullen
Scott Moldenhauer
Aidan Muir

Corey Schueneman
Paul Stoykewych