skip navigation

Fifty-One Freshmen Earn NCHC Academic All-Conference Honors for 2016-17

By NCHC, 07/05/17, 1:00PM EDT


Twenty rookies also garner NCHC Scholar-Athlete Team accolades with 3.5 GPA or better

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Adding to the National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC) student-athletes honored back in February, 51 NCHC freshmen have been named to the 2016-17 NCHC Academic All-Conference Team for their work in the classroom. In addition, 20 of the 51 freshmen also achieved NCHC Scholar-Athlete Team honors for their academic accomplishments.

To be eligible for the NCHC Academic All-Conference Team, a student-athlete must compile a 3.0 cumulative grade-point average (or better) and have completed a full academic year at their current institution. Similarly, for the NCHC Scholar-Athlete Team, a student-athlete must attain a 3.5 cumulative GPA or better with a full year of academic studies. Freshmen and first-year transfers were not eligible when the honors were first announced in February as they had not completed a full academic year, but with the 2016-17 academic calendar complete, the rising sophomores are now eligible to earn NCHC academic honors. Athletic success and playing time are not criteria for these awards.

In all, a record 174 NCHC student-athletes compose the 2016-17 NCHC Academic All-Conference Team, as 123 sophomores, juniors and seniors were recognized on Feb. 15. The 174 members of the NCHC Academic All-Conference Team are the most in the conference’s four-year history (158 was the previous high last season). A total of 59 student-athletes garnered NCHC Scholar-Athlete Team nods with 39 sophomores, juniors and seniors announced in February. The 59 members of the NCHC Scholar-Athlete Team are one more than in 2015-16, which was the first season any NCHC student-athlete with a 3.5 GPA or better was recognized.

Among freshmen only, Miami led the way with 10 rookies on the Academic All-Conference Team, while Colorado College produced nine and Western Michigan had eight on the squad. Six of the eight NCHC teams placed at least six freshmen on the Academic All-Conference Team while all eight teams were represented by rookies. Overall in 2016-17, Omaha saw 25 Mavericks collect Academic All-Conference honors, the most of any NCHC team, while Colorado College, St. Cloud State and Western Michigan each had 24 representatives on the Academic All-Conference Team among all classes.

North Dakota paced all NCHC teams with six rookies on the Scholar-Athlete Team, while Miami placed five freshmen on the team and Western Michigan had four rookies earn the honor. On the season as a whole, Western Michigan led NCHC teams with 13 members garnering Scholar-Athlete Team distinction, while Omaha saw 11 student-athletes collect the honor and North Dakota had nine earn the accolade.

The complete list of freshman student-athletes who earned NCHC Academic All-Conference and Scholar-Athlete Team honors is below, with Scholar-Athlete Team distinction noted in bold. To see the original list of 123 NCHC Academic All-Conference members and 39 Scholar-Athlete Team honorees from 2016-17, click here.

Beginning next season, members of the NCHC Scholar-Athlete Team will instead be referred to as NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes, as approved by the NCHC Athletic Council in April.



NCHC Scholar-Athlete Team recipients in bold

Colorado College
Alex Leclerc
Kristian Blumenschein
Bryce Vanhorn
Nick Halloran
Branden Makara
Alex Pernitsky
Cole Josefchak
Kade Kehoe
Max St. Pierre

Michael Davies
Erich Fear
Tyson McLellan

Alex Alger
Karch Bachman

Grant Frederic
Gordie Green
Bryce Hatten
Carter Johnson
Ryan Larkin
Andrew Masters
Carson Meyer
Christian Mohs

Minnesota Duluth
Joey Anderson

North Dakota
Dixon Bowen
Ludvig Hoff
Casey Johnson
Andrew Peski
Colton Poolman
Cole Smith
Zach Yon

Colin Grannary
Ryan Jones
Zach Jordan
Tristan Keck
Kris Oldham
Dean Stewart

St. Cloud State
Jack Ahcan
Zach Driscoll
Garrett Forster
Jack Poehling
Nick Poehling
Ryan Poehling
Jake Wahlin

Western Michigan
Wade Allison
Luke Bafia
Kale Bennett

Ben Blacker
Lawton Courtnall
Dawson DiPietro
Cam Lee
Hugh McGing