skip navigation

Five NCHC Players Land on AHCA/CCM All-American Teams

By NCHC, 04/11/14, 8:30PM EDT


Archibald, Brittain and Dowd named to First Team; Czarnik and LaLeggia on Second Team

GLOUCESTER, Mass. – Five National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC) student-athletes were recognized for their tremendous seasons in 2013-14, as the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) announced the CCM Men’s Division I All-American Teams on Friday. Earning First-Team West All-American was Omaha junior forward Josh Archibald, Denver senior goaltender Sam Brittain and St. Cloud State senior forward Nic Dowd. Garnering Second-Team West All-American was Miami junior forward Austin Czarnik and Denver junior defenseman Joey LaLeggia.

A total of 14 different schools were represented between the East and West All-American Teams, including four NCHC schools, with Denver the lone NCHC school to have multiple representatives. Six All-Americans each hailed from the Big Ten, the ECAC and Hockey East, with five came from the NCHC and two from the WCHA. Among the West All-American First Team, three played in the NCHC while the other half played in the Big Ten. All five NCHC student-athletes named All-Americans were also tabbed First-Team All-Conference.

Archibald was the NCHC Player of the Year and Forward of the Year, while also being one of 10 finalists for the Hobey Baker Award. The Brainerd, Minn. native led the NCHC and finished the season second nationally with 29 goals in 37 games, while totaling 43 points on the year. Archibald tied for fifth nationally with six game-winning goals while scoring eight more goals in conference play than any other NCHC player en route to the NCHC scoring title. The Pittsburgh Penguins prospect signed with the NHL franchise March 22, forgoing his senior season.

Brittain was the NCHC Goaltender of the Year and a finalist for NCHC Player of the Year, while he was also one of five finalists for the inaugural Mike Richter Award, given to the top NCAA goaltender. The Calgary, Alta. native started 39 of Denver’s 42 games, while backstopping them to the NCHC Tournament title and an NCAA Tournament berth. The Florida Panthers draft pick posted a 2.22 goals-against average while ranking 10th nationally with a .929 save percentage. Brittain tied for sixth in the NCAA with five shutouts while compiling a record of 19-14-6 on the season.

Dowd, SCSU’s team captain, guided the Huskies to the inaugural Penrose Cup by capturing the NCHC regular-season crown. The Huntsville, Ala. native was a Hobey Baker Award Hat Trick finalist, while he also garnered NCHC Scholar-Athlete of the Year and NCHC Defensive Forward of the Year accolades. Dowd totaled 40 points in 38 games, scoring 22 goals, which ties for seventh nationally, and adding 18 assists. Five of his goals were game-winners while he posted a +17 rating. The Los Angeles Kings prospect, who signed with the club April 1, was also a finalist for NCHC Player of the Year and Forward of the Year.

Czarnik, another team captain, led the NCHC in overall scoring with 47 points on 13 goals and 34 assists. His 47 points tie for ninth nationally while his 34 assists rank sixth in the NCAA, playing 37 games for the RedHawks. The Washington, Mich. native was a finalist for NCHC Forward of the Year and recorded 12 multi-point games with at least one point in 27 contests. Czarnik was one of just four repeat All-Americans this year after garnering First-Team honors last season.

LaLeggia was the NCHC Defenseman of the Year and Offensive Defenseman of the Year. The Burnaby, B.C. native compiled 25 points on 12 goals and 13 assists in 37 games with a +7 rating. The Edmonton Oilers prospect ranks second nationally among defensemen with his 12 markers while blocking 54 shots. LaLeggia led a DU penalty kill that ranked sixth nationally while also helping the Pioneers capture the inaugural NCHC Tournament crown.

The CCM All-American Teams are chosen by members of the AHCA, including the head coaches at the 59 Division I programs.

2013-14 AHCA/CCM Hockey Men's Division I All-American Teams

Goalie - Connor Hellebuyck, SO, UMass Lowell (Commerce, MI)   
Defense - Mat Bodie, SR, Union College (East St. Paul, MB)            
Defense - #Shayne Gostisbehere, JR, Union College (Margate, FL)   
Forward - #Greg Carey, SR, St. Lawrence University (Hamilton, ON)     
Forward - *Johnny Gaudreau, JR, Boston College (Carneys Point, NJ)    
Forward - Kevin Hayes, SR, Boston College (Dorchester, MA)           

Goalie - Sam Brittain, SR, University of Denver (Calgary, AB)
Defense - Jake McCabe, JR, University of Wisconsin (Eau Claire, WI)
Defense - Mike Reilly, SO, University of Minnesota (Chanhassen, MN)
Forward - Josh Archibald, JR, University of Nebraska Omaha (Brainerd, MN)
Forward - Nic Dowd, SR, St. Cloud State University (Huntsville, AL)
Forward - Ryan Dzingel, JR, The Ohio State University (Wheaton, IL)

Goalie - Colin Stevens, JR, Union College (Niskayuna, NY)
Defense - Ben Hutton, SO, University of Maine (Prescott, ON)
Defense - Michael Matheson, SO, Boston College (Pointe-Claire, QC)
Forward - Daniel Carr, SR, Union College (Sherwood Park, ALB)
Forward - Ryan Haggerty, JR, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (Stamford, CT)   
Forward - Devin Shore, SO, University of Maine (Ajax, ON)   

Goalie - Adam Wilcox, SO, University of Minnesota (South St. Paul, MN)
Defense - Joey LaLeggia, JR, University of Denver (Burnaby, BC)
Defense - Colton Parayko, SO, University of Alaska (St. Albert, AB)
Forward - *Austin Czarnik, JR, Miami University (Washington, MI)
Forward - Cody Kunyk, SR, University of Alaska (Sherwood Park, AB)
Forward - Michael Mersch, SR, University of Wisconsin (Park Ridge, IL)
Forward - Kyle Rau, JR, University of Minnesota (Eden Prairie, MN)

*First Team in 2012-13; #Second Team in 2012-13

Top Headlines