skip navigation

NCHC Adds 62 Newcomers to 2020-21 Academic All-Conference Team

By NCHC, 07/21/21, 2:00PM EDT


Of the 62, 42 also named NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes with 3.5 GPA or better

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – In addition to the 118 National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC) student-athletes recognized back in March, 62 NCHC freshmen and first-year transfers have now been bestowed 2020-21 NCHC Academic All-Conference Team honors for their work in the classroom over the last year, the Conference announced Wednesday. Among those 62 newcomers, 42 (67.7 percent) also earned NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athlete recognition for their academic accomplishments following completion of their first year at their current school.

To be eligible for the NCHC Academic All-Conference Team, a student-athlete must compile a 3.0 cumulative grade-point average (or better) and have completed a full academic year at their current institution. Similarly, for NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes, a student-athlete must attain a 3.5 cumulative GPA or better with a full year of academic studies. Freshmen and first-year transfers were not eligible when the honors were first announced in early March, as they had not completed a full academic year, but with the 2020-21 academic calendar complete, the newcomers are now eligible to earn NCHC academic honors. Athletic success and playing time are not criteria for these awards.

In all, a record 180 NCHC student-athletes made the 2020-21 Academic All-Conference Team, as 118 sophomores, juniors and seniors were recognized on March 4. The previous high for total members on the NCHC Academic All-Conference Team was 174 in 2016-17. Along with that, a record-shattering 109 student-athletes overall were tabbed NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes this past season, including the 67 sophomores, juniors and seniors announced in March. The 109 NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes are by far the most in the conference’s six years since the honor began (the previous record was 74 in 2019-20).

Among freshmen and first-year transfers only, Colorado College led the way with 13 newcomers on the NCHC Academic All-Conference Team. Western Michigan was second with nine freshmen earning Academic All-NCHC honors, while Denver and Omaha placed eight each on the quad. Miami and Minnesota Duluth saw seven newcomers earn Academic All-Conference, while all eight NCHC teams had at least four freshmen or first-year transfers added to the All-Academic Team.

Overall in 2020-21, Omaha led all NCHC teams, as they’ve done each of the NCHC’s eight seasons, by placing all 29 team members on the Academic All-Conference Team. Colorado College was second with 25 total representatives on the Academic All-NCHC Team, while Western Michigan placed 24 on the squad. Denver saw 23 student-athletes land on the All-Academic squad, while Miami and Minnesota Duluth had 22 per school. All eight NCHC programs had at least 17 total representatives on the Academic All-Conference Team this past season.

The Tigers also paced all teams with 10 newcomers being named NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes in 2020-21. Western Michigan added seven Distinguished Scholar-Athletes, while Omaha had six newcomers receive the honor. Denver and UMD saw five newcomers each earn the honor, while all NCHC teams had at least two freshmen or first-year transfers collect Distinguished Scholar-Athlete honors for this past season.

As a whole in 2020-21, Omaha also once more led NCHC teams with 20 NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes, while Denver and Western Michigan each produced 16 total student-athletes that collected the honor. Colorado College and Miami are home to 13 and 12 Distinguished Scholar-Athletes, respectively, this past season, while all eight teams had at least 10 NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes in 2020-21.

The complete list of freshmen and first-year transfers who earned NCHC Academic All-Conference Team and Distinguished Scholar-Athlete honors in 2020-21 is below, with Distinguished Scholar-Athletes noted in bold. To see the original list of 118 NCHC Academic All-Conference Team members and 67 Distinguished Scholar-Athletes from 2020-21, click here.


Nicklas Andrews
Dominic Basse
Jake Begley
Jordan Biro
Hugo Blixt
Ray Christy
Tyler Coffey
Chase Foley
Jackson Jutting
Hunter McKown
Jack Millar
Marc Pasemko
Logan Will

Michael Benning
Connor Caponi

Jack Caruso
Bo Hanson
Reid Irwin
Carter King
Antti Tuomisto
McKade Webster

Joe Cassetti
Robby Drazner

Michael Holland
Dylan Moulton
Jack Olmstead
Ludvig Persson
Hampus Rydqvist

Blake Biondi
Matt Cairns
Darian Gotz
Wyatt Kaiser
Connor Kelley
Jarrett Lee
Zach Stejskal

Brendan Budy
Riese Gaber
Tyler Kleven
Cooper Moore
Griffin Ness
Jake Sanderson

Kaden Bohlsen
Brock Bremer
Jimmy Glynn
Jake Harrison
Nolan Krenzen
Matt Miller
Jack Randl

Jonny Tychonick

Jared Cockrell

Seamus Donohue
Jack Johnston
Brady Ziemer

Trevor Bishop
Aidan Fulp
Ty Glover
Luke Grainger
Chad Hillebrand
Daniel Hilsendager

Cam Knuble
Hugh Larkin
Jarred White