skip navigation

Sixty-Two NCHC Student-Athletes Earn 2020-21 Krampade/AHCA All-American Scholar Honors

By NCHC, 07/19/21, 6:15PM EDT


Omaha leads NCHC teams with 16 recipients; the 62 honorees are NCHC’s most ever

GLOUCESTER, Mass. – After finishing a challenging 2020-21 academic year, a record 62 National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC) student-athletes have been recognized as Krampade All-American Scholars for their achievements in the classroom, the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) announced Monday. Across all of Division I, the fifth annual Krampade/AHCA All-American Scholars program recognized 532 men’s ice hockey players, as well as 385 women’s ice hockey players.

To garner Krampade All-American Scholar distinction from the AHCA, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.6 grade-point average for each semester during the 2020-21 academic year, regardless of whether the school’s hockey team was able to play this past season or not. Due to the effects of COVID-19, the AHCA adopted revised criteria for this year’s hon­orees. Normally, a student-athlete is required to participate in a minimum of 40 percent of a team’s games, however that was waived this season. The honor is open to any program who is a member of the AHCA.

The 62 All-American Scholars from the NCHC are the most ever in the five-year history of the award, topping the previous best of 49 NCHC recipients in the first year of the award in 2016-17 when playing time was a requirement. All eight NCHC teams saw at least three student-athletes garner Krampade All-American Scholars honors this past season, led by 16 from Omaha. Denver and Western Michigan each also had double-digit honorees with 12 and 10, respectively. Colorado College placed seven on the All-American Scholars list, while Minnesota Duluth and North Dakota boasted five each. Miami and St. Cloud State rounded out the NCHC honorees with four and three, respectively.

Western Michigan redshirt senior defenseman Kale Bennett, the NCHC’s 2020-21 Senior Scholar-Athlete Award winner, is the NCHC’s lone four-time All-American Scholar this season. He’s only the third NCHC student-athlete to achieve the feat (former Miami forward Karch Bachman and former North Dakota defenseman Colton Poolman are the others). Four other NCHC student-athletes became three-time All-American Scholars this year in UND junior defenseman Jacob Bernard-Docker, Omaha senior forward Martin Sundberg, WMU senior forward Brett Van Os and WMU junior defenseman Jared Kucharek. Of the 62 NCHC student-athletes honored, 17 are repeat honorees from 2019-20.

Among the 62 NCHC players honored, 33 are forwards, 25 are defensemen and four are goaltenders. NCHC sophomores led all classes with 20 recipients, while 16 were freshmen, 14 were juniors and 12 were seniors.

The NCHC has honored 118 student-athletes with NCHC Academic All-Conference Team distinction in 2020-21 so far and will announce freshmen and first-year transfers being added to the team later this week. To earn NCHC Academic All-Conference honors a student-athlete must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA or better and complete an entire academic year at their institution.

The AHCA, which was formed in 1947, has recognized on-ice excellence with its All-America program, which includes 46 NCHC student-athletes in the NCHC’s eight years of competition, including four NCHC student-athletes honored as All-Americans this past season.

Krampade, LLC, is a Lincoln, Nebraska-based company focused on mitigating and preventing cramp formation, while enhancing performance using its patent-pending formulations. The beauty of Krampade® is the depth and breadth of its consumer base, which translates into helping a lot of people resolve their issues with cramping in an effective, cost-efficient manner. Krampade is also the official sports drink of the NCHC.

The full list of NCHC student-athletes named 2020-21 AHCA/Krampade All-American Scholars is below, with repeat honorees in bold (three- and four-time honorees denoted with *).

Name School 20-21 Class Position
Hugo Blixt Colorado College Jr. D
Patrick Cozzi Colorado College So. F
McKay Flanagan Colorado College Sr. D
Jack Gates Colorado College Sr. F
Connor Mayer Colorado College So. D
Jack Millar Colorado College Fr. D
Josiah Slavin Colorado College So. F
Ryan Barrow Denver Sr. F
Magnus Chrona Denver So. G
Hank Crone Denver Jr. F
Slava Demin Denver Jr. D
Bo Hanson Denver Sr. D
Reid Irwin Denver Fr. D
Carter King Denver Fr. F
Lane Krenzen Denver So. D
Kyle Mayhew Denver Jr. D
Griffin Mendel Denver Sr. D
McKade Webster Denver Fr. F
Jack Works Denver Fr. F
Scott Corbett Miami Jr. F
Michael Holland Miami Fr. F
Andrew Sinard Miami Jr. D
Grant Valentine Miami Sr. G
Benjamin Almquist Minnesota Duluth So. F
Blake Biondi Minnesota Duluth Fr. F
Ryan Fanti Minnesota Duluth So. G
Darian Gotz Minnesota Duluth Fr. D
Tanner Laderoute Minnesota Duluth Jr. F
Jacob Bernard-Docker*** North Dakota Jr. D
Brendan Budy North Dakota So. F
Judd Caulfield North Dakota So. F
Ethan Frisch North Dakota So. D
Josh Reiger North Dakota Sr. D
Josh Boyer Omaha So. F
Jimmy Glynn Omaha Fr. F
Jordan Klehr Omaha Sr. D
Travis Kothenbeutel Omaha Jr. F
Nolan Krenzen Omaha Fr. D
Matt Miller Omaha Fr. F
Chayse Primeau Omaha Jr. F
Kirby Proctor Omaha So. D
Noah Prokop Omaha So. F
Jack Randl Omaha So. F
Brandon Scanlin Omaha So. D
John Schuldt Omaha Jr. D
Jason Smallidge Omaha Jr. D
Nolan Sullivan Omaha So. F
Martin Sundberg*** Omaha Sr. F
Jacob Zab Omaha So. G
Chase Brand St. Cloud State So. F
Kevin Fitzgerald St. Cloud State Sr. F
Thomas Rocco St. Cloud State So. F
Kale Bennett**** Western Michigan RS-Sr. D
Trevor Bishop Western Michigan Fr. F
Aidan Fulp Western Michigan Fr. D
Ty Glover Western Michigan Fr. F
Daniel Hilsendager Western Michigan Fr. D
Jared Kucharek*** Western Michigan Jr. D
Jason Polin Western Michigan So. F
Brett Van Os*** Western Michigan Sr. F
Jarred White Western Michigan Fr. F
Drew Worrad Western Michigan Jr. F