skip navigation

Four NCHC Players Tabbed AHCA All-Americans in 2020-21

By NCHC, 04/09/21, 7:30PM EDT


UND’s Pinto, WMU’s Attard land on First Team; Pair of UND seniors named to Second Team

GLOUCESTER, Mass. – Four National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC) players have been honored as 2020-21 CCM/AHCA Division I All-Americans, the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) announced Friday night, with two on the First Team and two on the Second Team.

North Dakota sophomore forward Shane Pinto and WMU sophomore defenseman Ronnie Attard both earned First-Team West All-America, while UND seniors Jordan Kawaguchi at forward and Matt Kiersted on the blue line were selected Second-Team West All-Americans. North Dakota’s three All-Americans tie for the most from one team this season, while Kawaguchi repeats as an All-American after garnering First-Team accolades last season. Kawaguchi is one of only three All-Americans from last season to again earn the honor in 2020-21.

All four All-Americans from the NCHC were First-Team All-NCHC selections this season, as well.

Pinto (Franklin Square, N.Y.) was the unanimous 2020-21 NCHC Player of the Year and a Hobey Hat Trick finalist. He also became the first player to win both NCHC Forward and Defensive Forward of the Year in the same season. Pinto, who recently signed with the Ottawa Senators to turn pro, finishes ninth nationally with 32 points this season, while scoring 15 goals, which is seventh in the NCAA, and adding 17 assists in 28 games. Pinto was second nationally in faceoff wins with 388 and ranks fourth in the NCAA with a .619 win percentage on draws. Pinto was also a First-Team All-CHN selection this season, a two-time NCHC Player of the Week this year and the January NCHC Player of the Month.

Attard (White Lake, Mich.) led all NCHC defensemen in scoring with 22 points on eight goals and 14 assists, finishing the regular season tied for second nationally in points by a defenseman. His eight goals in 25 games rank third among blue liners nationally, while he fired 74 shots on goal, second among NCHC defensemen. The Philadelphia Flyers draft pick garnered NCHC Offensive Defenseman of the Year honors this season to go with his all-conference accolade. Attard was a three-time NCHC Defenseman of the Week this season, as well.

Kawaguchi (Abbotsford, B.C.), who was named the winner of the 2020-21 Senior CLASS Award earlier on Friday, is now a two-time All-American and two-time All-NCHC selection, and was a Second-Team All-CHN honoree this year, as well. This year’s UND captain ended the season fourth nationally in scoring with 36 points in 28 games, while his 1.29 points per game are seventh in the NCAA. Kawaguchi, who recently signed with the Dallas Stars as a free agent, scored 10 goals and chipped in 26 assists, which rank third in the NCAA.

Like Pinto and Kawaguchi, Kiersted (Elk River, Minn.) turned pro this week signing with the Florida Panthers as a free agent. Also like Pinto, he was a First-Team All-CHN honoree, as well as the runner-up for NCHC Defensive Defenseman of the Year in 2021. Kiersted finished tied for fifth among NCAA defensemen in scoring with 22 points in 29 games. The UND alternate captain scored three goals and dished out 19 assists this season, tying for second nationally among blue liners. His 52 blocked shots were second-most in the NCHC and 10th nationally.

The AHCA All-America teams are sponsored by CCM Hockey and chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association, including the 61 NCAA Division I men’s head coaches. To see the complete AHCA All-America Teams, click here.

The NCHC has now produced 46 AHCA All-Americans in its eight-year history.

Goaltender: Jack LaFontaine, SR, Minnesota
Defenseman: Ronnie Attard, SO, Western Michigan
Defenseman: Cam York, SO, Michigan
Forward: Cole Caufield, SO, Wisconsin
Forward: Shane Pinto, SO, North Dakota
Forward: Sampo Ranta, JR, Minnesota

Goaltender: Dryden McKay, JR, Minnesota State
Defenseman: Matt Kiersted, SR, North Dakota
Defenseman: Jackson LaCombe, SO, Minnesota
Forward: Dylan Holloway, SO, Wisconsin
Forward: Jordan Kawaguchi, SR, North Dakota
Forward: Linus Weissbach, SR, Wisconsin