skip navigation

NCHC Adds 44 Newcomers to 2019-20 Academic All-Conference Team

By NCHC, 07/22/20, 1:00PM EDT


Of the 44, 31 also named NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes with 3.5 GPA or better

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Adding to the 104 National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC) student-athletes recognized back in February, 44 NCHC freshmen and first-year transfers have now been bestowed 2019-20 NCHC Academic All-Conference Team honors for their work in the classroom, the conference announced Wednesday. Among those 44 newcomers, 31 (70.4 percent) also earned NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athlete recognition for their academic accomplishments following completion of their first year.

To be eligible for the NCHC Academic All-Conference Team, a student-athlete must compile a 3.0 cumulative grade-point average (or better) and have completed a full academic year at their current institution. Similarly, for NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes, a student-athlete must attain a 3.5 cumulative GPA or better with a full year of academic studies. Freshmen and first-year transfers were not eligible when the honors were first announced in February as they had not completed a full academic year, but with the 2019-20 academic calendar complete, the newcomers are now eligible to earn NCHC academic honors. Athletic success and playing time are not criteria for these awards.

In all, 148 NCHC student-athletes made the 2019-20 Academic All-Conference Team, as 104 sophomores, juniors and seniors were recognized on Feb. 19. A record 74 student-athletes were tabbed NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes in 2019-20, including the 43 sophomores, juniors and seniors announced in February. The 74 NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes are the most in the conference’s five years since the honor began (the previous record was 73 last year).

Among freshmen and first-year transfers only, Omaha led the way with 11 newcomers on the NCHC Academic All-Conference Team, as their entire freshman class made the squad. Miami (6), North Dakota (6) and Western Michigan (4) also had their entire rookie class earn Academic All-NCHC honors. All eight NCHC teams had at least three freshmen or first-year transfers added to the academic team.

Overall in 2019-20, Omaha led all NCHC teams, as they’ve done each of the NCHC’s seven seasons, by placing 24 Mavericks on the Academic All-Conference Team. Denver was second with 23 total representatives on the Academic All-NCHC Team. Miami and Western Michigan each saw 21 student-athletes land on the All-Academic squad, while all eight NCHC programs had at least 13 total representatives on the Academic All-Conference Team this season.

The Mavericks also paced all teams with nine newcomers being named NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes. North Dakota added five Distinguished Scholar-Athletes, while Denver and Western Michigan had four newcomers each receive the honor. All NCHC teams had at least two newcomers collect Distinguished Scholar-Athlete honors.

As a whole in 2019-20, Omaha also once more led NCHC teams with 16 NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes, while Denver and North Dakota produced 12 total student-athletes that collected the honor. Miami and Western Michigan are home to 10 Distinguished Scholar-Athletes each this past season, while all eight teams had at least three NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes.

The complete list of freshmen and first-year transfers who earned NCHC Academic All-Conference Team and Distinguished Scholar-Athlete honors in 2019-20 is below, with Distinguished Scholar-Athletes noted in bold. To see the original list of 104 NCHC Academic All-Conference Team members and 43 Distinguished Scholar-Athletes from 2019-20, click here.


Andrew Gaus
Chad Sasaki

Josiah Slavin
Matt Vernon

Bobby Brink
Magnus Chrona
Hank Crone

Brett Edwards
Lane Krenzen

Alec Capstick
Jack Clement
Ben Kraws
Chase Pletzke
Ryan Savage
John Sladic

Ryan Fanti
Luke Loheit

Quinn Olson

Carson Albrecht
Judd Caulfield
Ethan Frisch
Shane Pinto
Westin Michaud

Harrison Blaisdell

Joey Abate
Josh Boyer

Ryan Brushett
Kirby Proctor
Noah Prokop
Austin Roden

Alex Roy
Isaiah Saville
Brandon Scanlin
Nolan Sullivan
Jacob Zab

Chase Brand
Henry Enebak
Joey Lamoreaux
Thomas Rocco
Trevor Zins

Ronnie Attard
Scooter Brickey
Brandon Bussi
Jason Polin