skip navigation

Forty-One NCHC Student-Athletes Tabbed 2019-20 AHCA/Krampade All-American Scholars

By NCHC, 07/21/20, 1:00PM EDT


Miami’s Bachman, UND’s Poolman become NCHC’s first four-time honorees

GLOUCESTER, Mass. – With the 2019-20 academic year complete, 41 National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC) student-athletes have been honored as Krampade All-American Scholars for their achievements in the classroom and on the ice, the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) announced Tuesday. Across all of Division I, the fourth annual AHCA All-American Scholars program recognized 318 men’s ice hockey players, as well as 253 women’s ice hockey players for a total of 571 student-athletes.

To garner Krampade All-American Scholar distinction from the AHCA, a student-athlete must have earned at least a 3.75 grade-point average during the fall semester of the 2019-20 academic year and participated in at least 40 percent of their team’s games this past season. Due to the effects of COVID-19 on actual grades in the spring, the AHCA adopted revised criteria for this year’s honorees, which previously required a 3.6 GPA in both semesters.  A small number of waivers to the 40 percent participation requirement were granted due to injury or for back-up goaltenders.

The 41 All-American Scholars from the NCHC are the second-most in the four-year history of the award, trailing only the NCHC’s 49 recipients in its first year in 2016-17 when a slightly lower GPA threshold was in place. All eight NCHC teams saw at least two student-athletes garner Krampade All-American Scholars honors in 2019-20, led by eight each from North Dakota and Omaha. It was the second straight year UND led the conference in All-American Scholars, while Omaha led the NCHC the first two seasons All-American Scholars were named. Western Michigan had six student-athletes recognized this season, while Denver and Miami each saw five players named All-American Scholars.

Two student-athletes became the NCHC’s first four-time All-American Scholars as Miami senior forward Karch Bachman and North Dakota senior defenseman Colton Poolman each garnered the distinction for the fourth time. Bachman was also the NCHC’s 2020 Senior Scholar-Athlete Award recipient. Four others – Denver senior defenseman Erich Fear, North Dakota senior forward Cole Smith, Omaha senior forward Zach Jordan and Western Michigan redshirt junior defenseman Kale Bennett – are now three-time All-American Scholars. Ten other NCHC student-athletes earned the honor for a second time this past season.

Of the 41 NCHC players honored, 18 are forwards, 17 are defensemen and six are goaltenders. NCHC seniors led all classes with 14 recipients, while 10 were freshmen, nine were juniors and eight sophomores.

The NCHC has honored 104 student-athletes with NCHC Academic All-Conference Team distinction in 2019-20 so far, and will announce freshmen and first-year transfers being added to the team on Wednesday. To earn NCHC Academic All-Conference honors a student-athlete must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA or better and complete an academic year at their institution.

The AHCA, which was formed in 1947, has recognized on-ice excellence with its All-America program, which includes 42 NCHC student-athletes in the NCHC’s seven years of competition, adding seven NCHC student-athletes as All-Americans in 2019-20.

Krampade, LLC, is a Lincoln, Nebraska-based company focused on mitigating and preventing cramp formation, while enhancing performance using its patent-pending formulations. The beauty of Krampade® is the depth and breadth of its consumer base, which translates into helping a lot of people resolve their issues with cramping in an effective, cost-efficient manner. Krampade is also the official sports drink of the NCHC.

The full list of NCHC student-athletes named 2019-20 AHCA/Krampade All-American Scholars is below, with multi-time winners in bold (three- and four-time winners denoted with *).

2019-20 AHCA/Krampade All-American Scholars

Name School 19-20 Class Pos.
Kristian Blumenschein Colorado College Sr. D
Jon Flakne Colorado College Jr. G
Chad Sasaki Colorado College Fr. D
Devin Cooley Denver Jr. G
Jack Doremus Denver Jr. F
Jake Durflinger Denver Jr. F
Erich Fear*** Denver Sr. D
Tyson McLellan Denver Sr. F
Karch Bachman**** Miami Sr. F
Jack Clement Miami Fr. D
Grant Frederic Miami Sr. D
Ryan Larkin Miami Sr. G
Andrew Sinard Miami So. D
Ryan Fanti Minnesota Duluth Fr. G
Tanner Laderoute Minnesota Duluth So. F
Jacob Bernard-Docker North Dakota So. D
Judd Caulfield North Dakota Fr. F
Ethan Frisch North Dakota Fr. D
Casey Johnson North Dakota Sr. F
Westin Michaud North Dakota Sr. F
Andrew Peski North Dakota Sr. D
Colton Poolman**** North Dakota Sr. D
Cole Smith*** North Dakota Sr. F
Josh Boyer Omaha Fr. F
Ryan Jones Omaha Sr. D
Zach Jordan*** Omaha Sr. F
Travis Kothenbeutel Omaha So. F
John Schuldt Omaha So. D
Jason Smallidge Omaha So. D
Martin Sundberg Omaha Jr. F
Jacob Zab Omaha Fr. G
Tyler Anderson St. Cloud State Jr. D
Chase Brand St. Cloud State Fr. F
Will Hammer St. Cloud State Jr. F
Clark Kuster St. Cloud State Sr. D
Kale Bennett*** Western Michigan R-Jr. D
Brandon Bussi Western Michigan Fr. G
Jared Kucharek Western Michigan So. D
Jason Polin Western Michigan Fr. F
Brett Van Os Western Michigan Jr. F
Drew Worrad Western Michigan So. F