skip navigation

NCHC Honors 104 Student-Athletes on 2019-20 Academic All-Conference Team

By NCHC, 02/19/20, 3:30PM EST


Among the 104 recipients, 43 also recognized as NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – While student-athletes in the National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC) continue to perform well on the ice, many of them are also performing well in the classroom as 104 NCHC student-athletes earned NCHC Academic All-Conference Team honors for the 2019-20 season, the conference announced Wednesday. Among the 104 honorees, 43 were also named NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes for their exceptional academic achievements.

To be eligible for the NCHC Academic All-Conference Team, a student-athlete must compile a 3.0 cumulative grade-point average or better while having completed at least one academic year at his current institution. Student-athletes that have accrued a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or better are honored as NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes, in addition to Academic All-Conference. The 43 Distinguished Scholar-Athletes are the second-most recipients since the NCHC switched to its current criteria for the Distinguished Scholar-Athletes/Scholar-Athlete Team in 2015-16 (52 recipients last year). 

Of the 43 student-athletes to be tabbed NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes, 26 of them have posted a cumulative GPA north of 3.7, including eight with a 3.9 GPA or better. Denver and Miami tied for the NCHC lead with eight Distinguished Scholar-Athletes each. North Dakota and Omaha each had seven student-athletes earn the honor, while Western Michigan is home to six recipients and St. Cloud State saw four Huskies collect Distinguished Scholar-Athlete accolades. All eight NCHC teams had at least one Distinguished Scholar-Athlete.

Among the 104 NCHC Academic All-Conference Team members, five schools placed at least 13 student-athletes on the team, led by Denver with 18 representatives. Western Michigan was second among the NCHC teams with 17 honorees, while Miami saw 15 RedHawks recognized. North Dakota and Omaha each produced 13 Academic All-Conference Team members. All eight schools had at least nine student-athletes honored on the NCHC Academic All-Conference Team.

While freshmen and first-year transfers are not currently eligible for the NCHC Academic All-Conference Team or Distinguished Scholar-Athlete recognition, those freshmen and transfers that achieve a cumulative 3.0 GPA or better at the conclusion of the 2019-20 academic year, will be added to the Academic All-Conference Team by the NCHC over the summer. Similarly, any freshmen or transfers who compile a 3.5 GPA or better will be named an NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athlete. 

The 2019-20 NCHC Senior Scholar-Athlete Award, chosen from senior Distinguished Scholar-Athletes, will be announced at the NCHC Awards Celebration on Thursday, March 19 in Saint Paul, Minn. on the eve of the NCHC Frozen Faceoff. 

All 104 members of the 2019-20 NCHC Academic All-Conference Team are listed below by school, with those also earning NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athlete recognition in BOLD.  


Kristian Blumenschein
Grant Cruikshank
Jon Flakne
McKay Flanagan
Jack Gates
Nick Halloran
Alex Pernitsky
Jackson Ross
Bryan Yoon

Ryan Barrow
Devin Cooley

Michael Corson
Michael Davies
Slava Demin
Jack Doremus
Jake Durflinger
Erich Fear
Cole Guttman
Jaakko Heikkinen
Kyle Mayhew
Tyson McLellan

Tyler Ward
Griffin Mendel
Ian Mitchell

Kohen Olischefski
Emilio Pettersen
Brett Stapley

Karch Bachman
Scott Corbett

Bray Crowder
Derek Daschke
Grant Frederic
Gordie Green
Brian Hawkinson
Noah Jordan
Phil Knies

Ryan Larkin
Ben Lown
Alec Mahalak
Andrew Sinard

Chaz Switzer
Grant Valentine

Matt Anderson
Koby Bender
Noah Cates
Jackson Cates
Cole Koepke
Tanner Laderoute
Ben Patt
Justin Richards
Dylan Samberg
Nick Swaney

Jacob Bernard-Docker
Harrison Feeney
Gavin Hain
Casey Johnson
Andrew Peski
Colton Poolman
Josh Rieger

Mark Senden
Cole Smith
Peter Thome
Jonny Tychonick
Jasper Weatherby
Zach Yon

Kevin Conley
Ryan Jones
Zach Jordan
Jordan Klehr
Nate Knoepke
Travis Kothenbeutel

Chayse Primeau
Teemu Pulkkinen
John Schuldt
Jason Smallidge

Dean Stewart
Martin Sundberg
Taylor Ward

Tyler Anderson
Kevin Fitzgerald
Will Hammer
Sam Hentges
Clark Kuster
Spencer Meier
Micah Miller
Nick Perbix
Nolan Walker

Wade Allison
Kale Bennett
Ben Blacker
Austin Cain
Dawson DiPietro
Cole Gallant
Michael Joyaux
Jared Kucharek
Will Massey
Hugh McGing
Josh Passolt
Jamie Rome
Lukas Samuelsson
Mattias Samuelsson
Brett Van Os
Paul Washe
Drew Worrad