skip navigation

Fourteen NCHC Student-Athletes Nominated for 2020 Hobey Baker Award

By NCHC, 01/16/20, 3:00PM EST


Fan voting now open through March 8 to help select college hockey’s top player

SAINT PAUL, Minn. – Looking to win the conference’s second ever Hobey Baker Award, 14 student-athletes from the National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC) are among 78 NCAA Division I men’s players nominated for the 2020 Hobey Baker Memorial Award, all of whom were revealed Thursday when fan voting opened to help select college hockey’s top player.

All eight NCHC teams are represented with at least one nominee, while six teams have two nominees (full list at bottom). North Dakota and St. Cloud State are the lone teams with one nominee each. Among the 14 nominees, nine are forwards, four are defensemen and one is a goaltender. By class, six NCHC nominees are seniors, five are juniors and three NCHC sophomores are up for college hockey’s top honor. The 14 nominees trail only ECAC Hockey’s 16 among conferences.

Presented annually to college hockey’s top player, the Hobey Baker Award opened fan voting for 2020 on Thursday, Jan. 16. Fans can cast their vote by visiting and viewing all 78 college hockey players, representing 45 NCAA Division I schools, up for the award.

The first phase of fan balloting runs through Sunday, March 8. Phase two of fan balloting then begins on March 19, after the Top Ten Hobey Baker finalists are announced. The fans’ vote accounts for one percent of the total ballot in each phase in selecting this year’s award recipient. Fans can learn more about each nominee by clicking here. Fans may vote once per day. Each school is allowed to nominate up to three players for the award.

Award criteria includes candidates exhibiting the exceptional character traits shown by the award’s namesake, Hobey Baker. A legendary American hero, Baker was a World War I fighter pilot and was known as America’s greatest amateur athlete in his day, excelling at hockey and football at Princeton University. Award candidates must demonstrate strength of character both on and off the ice, contribute to the integrity of his team and display outstanding skills in all phases of the game. Consideration should be given to scholastic achievement and sportsmanship, as well. 

The 2020 Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced on Friday, April 10, 2020 from a field of three Hobey Hat Trick finalists, first revealed on April 2, during the NCAA Frozen Four Championship in Detroit, Mich. The award ceremony will be held at the Max M. & Marjorie S. Fisher Music Center and will be broadcast nationally on NHL Network and streamed live at For more information on the Hobey Baker Award, please visit

Former Denver defenseman Will Butcher is the only NCHC player to win college hockey’s top honor, claiming the 2017 Hobey Baker Award. Last year, former St. Cloud State defenseman Jimmy Schuldt was a Hobey Hat Trick finalist. The NCHC has had one Hobey Hat Trick finalist in five of its six seasons so far and has produced 10 Hobey Baker Top-10 Finalists in its six seasons.

Key Hobey Baker announcement dates for 2020 include:

  • Top Ten list of finalists:  March 18
  • Hobey Hat Trick of three finalists:  April 2
  • Hobey Baker Award winner announcement:  April 10

2020 NCHC Hobey Baker Award Nominees

  • Jack Ahcan, Sr., D, St. Cloud State
  • Kevin Conley, Jr., F, Omaha
  • Derek Daschke, So., D, Miami
  • Gordie Green, Sr., F, Miami
  • Nick Halloran, Sr., F, Colorado College
  • Jordan Kawaguchi, Jr., F, North Dakota
  • Hugh McGing, Sr., F, Western Michigan
  • Ian Mitchell, Jr., D, Denver
  • Scott Perunovich, Jr., D, Minnesota Duluth
  • Emilio Pettersen, So., F, Denver
  • Hunter Shepard, Sr., G, Minnesota Duluth
  • Taylor Ward, So., F, Omaha
  • Paul Washe, Jr., F, Western Michigan
  • Chris Wilkie, Sr., F, Colorado College