skip navigation

Media Excellence Award

The NCHC Media Excellence Award is presented annually at the NCHC Awards Celebration on the eve of the Frozen Faceoff to a media member who meets the following criteria: The award recipient must display outstanding media coverage that conveys the stories of the NCHC and its members, furthers the conference's brand and mission, and promotes the NCHC and its members in a positive manner. The award should be presented to a media member who is well-regarded within the conference and college hockey as a whole, and who dedicates at least some of their time to covering the sport. Special consideration may also be given to media members who have covered the conference and/or a member team for many years, or to a media member who has been bestowed with industry awards from other entities in that given year. The Media Excellence Award is voted on by the conference’s sports information directors (SIDs). The award was first established for the 2017-18 season.

2020 Winner: Dave Starman, CBS Sports Network

Dave Starman, on left, was the recipient of the 2020 Media Excellence Award. Due to the coronavirus pandemic, Starman was unable to be presented the award in person.

Dave Starman has become synonymous with the NCHC, as the CBS Sports Network color analyst has been a stalwart on NCHC broadcasts since the conference began play. Starman was on the call for the NCHC’s first ever conference game, which aired on CBS Sports Network from Oxford, Ohio on Oct. 18, 2013. A fan favorite and passionate advocate for the NCHC, Starman puts in hours of work during the week watching and analyzing games and preparing for broadcasts. Once on site, he interviews several players and coaches to complement his already vast knowledge. In addition, he has attended several NCHC Media Days, conducting interviews and gathering background information for the season. Starman has been broadcasting college hockey games for a total of 16 seasons, dating back to CSTV (precursor to CBS Sports Network) in 2003-04, while also serving as a scout in the NHL for multiple teams over the years. Starman, along with play-by-play announcer Ben Holden (on right in photo) and rinkside reporter Shireen Saski, make up one of, if not the best, hockey-announcing teams on television.

2019 Winner: Mick Hatten, Forum Communications

2019 Media Excellence Award winner Mick Hatten of Forum Communications.

Mick Hatten worked for the St. Cloud Times for 19 seasons, mostly covering the St. Cloud State Huskies hockey team as their beat reporter, while also serving as sports editor and coordinating all St. Cloud State athletics coverage. Prior to the start of this season, Hatten took a new job as sports editor for Forum Communications, leading its emphasis on high school and college hockey and expanding offerings to audiences across Minnesota and North Dakota. As part of that, Hatten has been heavily involved in developing, which combines written and multimedia features covering college hockey across the upper Midwest. Hatten has won numerous sports journalism awards and written two e-books on SCSU hockey, as well.

2018 Winner: Brad Schlossman, Grand Forks Herald

2018 Media Excellence Award is accepted by UND Head Coach Brad Berry in Schlossman's absence.

Brad Schlossman is the beat writer for North Dakota, having covered college hockey for the Herald for the last 13 years. In 2016, he was named the top beat writer in the country by the Associated Press Sports Editors. Schlossman has voted in the national college hockey poll since 2007 and has served as a member of the Hobey Baker and Patty Kazmaier Award committees, as well.